Online Rock: Empowering Musicians  
OnlineRock CD Music Store  

More Info:
Gregory Paul
This Side of the Ground
Self Released

Gregory Paul lures listeners through a beautifully haunted acoustic soundscape of folk-noir sounds and images...along miles of ethereal banjo, guitar, bow, slide, and musical saw. Following his popular success with the Rochester, NY based Autumdivers, Paul released his highly applauded 2005 solo album "Awake From the Flash", which contains recordings that span twenty years of GP's musical experiences. More recently, Paul's diverse musical accomplishments include fronting the experimental ensemble Inward Becomes an Anthem, and as guitarist for the old-time band, The Varnish Cooks. He is also noted for his unique banjo picking presence in Rochester's Indie-Americana band Hinkley. Paul generously collaborates with local poets, visual artists, and musicians-- and his music has been featured in a variety of multi-media projects.

"I guess I've got multiple personality disorder," muses the 39-year-old Paul. "There are so many good avenues to explore in music, it's hard to pick one. The trick is how to integrate that into what I do."

His new album, This Side of the Ground, gives it a shot. It opens with a version of Ralph Stanley's "O Death," and closes with the old traditional "Wayfaring Stranger." That's as Americana as you get. In between, Paul's own sound weaves the Neil Young-like "Takes One to No One" with old-timey banjo, bowed guitar and modern sounds, all carrying an air of mystery.

Track Listing:

1 Oh Death
2 Takes One to Know One
3 Dusty Man
4 Great Plains Dreams
5 Daisy Beach
6 Summer Bell
7 Threadbare Heart
8 Alter Ego
9 Auguries
10 Reprise
11 Script
12 Star Crossed Again (Free MP3 Download)
13 House of Cards
14 Celluloid King
15 Isms
16 Wayfaring Stranger

AboutOnlineRock RecordsPress RoomContactAdvertisePrivacyShop